A Certain Ratio Announce New LP ‘1982’, Stream “SAMO”

A Certain Ratio Announce New LP '1982', Stream "SAMO"
A Certain Ratio ‘1982’

Legendary Manchester post-punk/funk band A Certain Ratio have announced the release of their new album ‘1982‘.

The follow-up to their 2020 album LOCO, will be out on March 31. Pre-order your copy here.

Looking backwards and forwards all at once, drawing on influences from across every spectrum, 1982 is an unpredictable record that will reward a dedicated listener dozens of times over.

Even by the band’s high standards – which includes a gleeful disregard for boundaries of style and genre, their eye fixed firmly on constant movement forwards – 1982 is multidimensional. Recorded by the core ACR line up of Jez Kerr, Martin Moscrop and Donald Johnson, alongside Tony Quigley, Matthew Steele and Ellen Beth Abdi, it shoots off in every direction, whether via searing Afrobeat, mind-melting jazz breakdowns or moody electronic experiments.

It might be called 1982, but it’s no nostalgia trip, fearlessly facing up to the future and running at it with full speed.

The band have also shared a lyric video for new single “SAMO“, watch it now.

1982 Tracklisting:

  1. Samo
  2. Waiting on a Train (feat. Ellen Beth Abdi & Chunky)
  3. 1982
  4. A trip in Hulme
  5. Tombo in M3
  6. Constant Curve (feat. Ellen Beth Abdi & Emperor Machine)
  7. Afro Dizzy (feat. Ellen Beth Abdi)
  8. Holy Smoke
  9. Tier 3
  10. Ballad of ACR