Album of the Week: Flamingods ‘Head of Pomegranate’

Album of the Week: Flamingods 'Head of Pomegranate'

Our featured album this week is ‘Head of Pomegranate‘, the new record from London//Bahrain psych/funk/alt four-piece Flamingods.

Recorded last Summer in Atlanta with Grammy award-winning producer Ben H. Allen, the band’s fifth album “is heavy in parts but it’s also absurdly fun, surreal and hard-hitting, weaving through genres of psychedelia, punk, new wave and electronica”.

Stylistically and in typical nature of a Flamingods record, there are a lot of genres and sounds covered. Weaving through genres of psychedelia, new wave, electronica and punk – often within the same song – is a bit of a specialty for the band, as is their knack for blending in influences from their unique cultural heritages and love of 70s British rock and roll.

The band shared:

A decade plus into our career, we couldn’t be prouder to still be doing what we love. Head of Pomegranate is the result of passion, sweat, grief, pain, joy and everything in between. A mesh of four outsiders who don’t quite fully fit in to any one musical genre or scene making music that’s true to us. The album is very much influenced by our eclectic heritage (Middle Eastern, South Asian, West African and British) and we try and avoid making traditional or obvious rock music. We’d rather make it our own and we hope we achieved that on HOP.” 

Favourite tracks: Dreams (On A Strip), Adana, Gutterball, Born Lucky, Tall Glass, Volta Rocket…

Head of Pomegranate is out now via The Liquid Label. Buy here and stream it below.

‘Head of Pomegranate’ Tracklist:

  1. Dreams (On A Strip)
  2. Adana
  3. The Dip
  4. Dirty Money
  5. Gutterball
  6. Born Lucky
  7. Volta Rocket
  8. Tall Glass
  9. Perfumed Garden
  10. Eastern Cowboys
  11. Head of Pomegranate