Album of the Week: SENSES ‘Little Pictures Without Sound’

Album of the Week: SENSES 'Little Pictures Without Sound'

Coventry indie rock/britpop band SENSES released their long awaited debut album ‘Little Pictures Without Sound‘ and is our new Album of the Week.

SENSES first met while attending school in Coventry and all come from Irish heritage. The quartet bonded over a shared love of diverse and underground music.

Composed of Brian Callan, Ian Finnegan, Kevin Kavanagh and Ronan O’Connor, they combine arena ready hooks with evocative soundscapes to create their compelling sound. Equally influenced by shoegaze romanticism, alternative experimentation, and indie ambition, they have been making music and gigging around the UK since they formed.

The 11-track album, produced by Gavin Monaghan at Magic Garden whose past credits include Editors, The Blinders, Slow Readers Club, was on hold for a few years and after a couple of false starts is finally available on vinyl, CD and digital through 42’s Records with a track by track commentary by the band and the album’s producer.

Creating a unique sound that transcends indie, shoegaze, dream-pop and everything in between, SENSES pride themselves on a sound steeped in their early influences, especially Ride, The Stone Roses, Spiritualized and Sigur Ros with a twist of more accessible melodies creating a sonic spectrum from walls of sound to their more reflective acoustic-led songs.

Favourite tracks on the album: We’re Not Wanted, Drifting, It Comes From Within, All Thins Happen for a Reason, With Us / Against Us…

Grab the album here and stream it below.