Album of the Week: The Veldt ‘Illuminated 1989’

Album of the Week: The Veldt 'Illuminated 1989'

Our featured album this week is ‘Illuminated 1989‘ the excellent new record from Raleigh, North Carolina pioneering shoegazers The Veldt.

This is the original 1989 full-length record produced by Cocteau Twins’ Robin Guthrie, previewed by the latest offering ‘Angel Heart’, the lead track ‘The Everlasting Gobstopper’, and the single ‘Aurora Borealis’ (with Elizabeth Fraser making a cameo appearance on backing vocals). Guthrie also remastered the album for vinyl earlier this year.

While originally intended to be the band’s first album, their label Capitol Records shelved the recording and sent them back into the studio with producer Lincoln Fong (Moose), resulting in their first album released with the title ‘Marigolds’. Finally the time has come to open this time capsule for the world to enjoy! 

Formed in North Carolina in the mid-1980s, The Veldt revolves around identical twins DANIEL and DANNY CHAVIS, who have been performing since they were children, their musical roots lead back to the church and southern juke-joints, and listening to music that included gospel, Motown and Pink Floyd. Referencing European post-punk while embracing modern hip-hop, their unique sound was influenced by Cocteau Twins as readily as Marvin Gaye and free-jazz warriors Sun Ra and Pharaoh Sanders. 

Favourite tracks: Aurora Borealis, C.C.C.P, Shallow By Shallow, Pleasure Toy, Angel Heart, Willow Tree, Heather…

‘Illuminated 1989’, is out now via Little Cloud Records / 5BC Records. Buy it here and stream it below.


  1. Aurora Borealis
  2. C.C.C.P
  3. It’s Over
  4. Shallow By Shallow
  5. Pleasure Toy
  6. Angel Heart
  7. Willow Tree
  8. Git Up
  9. Heather
  10. Daisy Chain
  11. The Everlasting Gobstopper

Photo Credit: Samantha Everette