Autobahn Announce New LP ‘Ecstasy of Ruin’, Air “Post-History”

Autobahn Announce New LP 'Ecstasy of Ruin', Air "Post-History"

Leeds-based post-punk band Autobahn have announced the release of their third studio album ‘Ecstasy of Ruin‘.

The follow-up to 2017’s The Moral Crossing, will be out on April 28 via Tough Love. Pre-order your copy here.

As with their previous record, Ecstasy of Ruin is an entirely self-produced collection, recorded between two self-built studios on a range of analogue equipment, the ghosts of their industrial forefathers haunting the circuits.

The music is unrelentingly taut and terse, and the vocals of frontman Craig Johnson are invariably intense, though lyrically there are repeated allusions to beauty, empowerment and, ostensibly, hope.

The band have also aired the album’s lead single and video “Post-History“. Speaking about it, they say:

“Post-history, is a philosophical look of what happens after society ends. Does the concept of the past also come to an end? There would be no consciousness to understand history.

After being introduced to the theory of post-capitalism, I began to believe that all major historical events might be behind us and that my worth as an individual is diminished. It seems there is no escape from the capitalistic beast: fall in line or be forgotten.

This led me to question the point of all the struggle.

Which brings you to think “Who gives a fuck?”.

The video is a nod to experimental filmmaker Takashi Itoh. It depicts the human form, how it can be distorted, and a way to break on through.”

Watch/listen now.

Check out the album’s tracklist and cover art below.

Autobahn 'Ecstasy of Ruin' artwork

Ecstasy of Ruin Tracklisting:

  1. Post-History
  2. Silver
  3. Acid Child
  4. Fields of Blood
  5. Tension
  6. Cylinder
  7. Ecstasy of Ruin
  8. Breather
  9. Vanity
  10. Class War