Future Islands Announce New LP ‘People Who Aren’t There Anymore’, Share “The Tower”

Future Islands Announce New LP ‘People Who Aren't There Anymore’, Share "The Tower"

Baltimore indie rock/indie pop band Future Islands have announced the release of their seventh studio album ‘People Who Aren’t There Anymore’, and have shared their new single “The Tower“.

The follow-up to their 2020’s record As Long As You Are, will be out 26th January via 4AD, and was co-produced by Future Islands and Steve Wright, and mixed by Steve Wright and Chris Coady (who returns to working with the band for the first time since 2014’s Singles). Pre-order your copy here.

According to the press release, the 12-track record heralds a new chapter for Future Islands who, despite having formed nearly two decades ago, continue to challenge themselves and each other.

Where they’ve pursued ever-higher energy anthems in the past, they’ve turned inward this time, and unlocked a new level of ferocity, delivering some of their most inspiring and most heartbreaking tracks by doing the opposite: taking their time, making each breath, each syllable, each cymbal crash count. The result is a powerful, defining statement from a group of musicians that have made the best album of their career.

Watch the Jonathan Van Tulleken-directed video for “The Tower” below, followed by the album’s artwork and tracklist.

Future Islands “The Tower”

People Who Aren’t There Anymore tracklisting:

  1. King of Sweden
  2. The Tower
  3. Deep In The Night
  4. Say Goodbye
  5. Give Me The Ghost Back
  6. Corner Of My Eye
  7. The Thief
  8. Iris
  9. The Fight
  10. Peach
  11. The Sickness
  12. The Garden Wheel

Future Islands are: Samuel T. Herring (vocals, lyrics), William Cashion (bass, guitars), Gerrit Welmers (keyboards, programming), and Michael Lowry (drums).

Photo credit: Frank Hamilton