Generationals Announce New LP ‘Heatherhead’, Air “Dirt Diamond”

Generationals Announce New LP 'Heatherhead', Air "Dirt Diamond"

New Orleans indie pop-rock duo Generationals, comprised of Ted Joyner and Grant Widmer, have announced the release of their sixth studio album ‘Heatherhead‘.

The follow-up to their 2019 record Reader As Detective, will be out on June 2 via Polyvinyl Records. Pre-order it here.

According to the press release, Heatherhead is not only the best Generationals album yet but also the one that, after all these years, finds Joyner and Widmer at last epitomizing their sound. The 11 songs are no-fuss, no-filler manifestations of Generationals’ bittersweet beauty, of would-be rock anthems made to feel like cozy sweaters.

Maybe it’s the way the thick riff of the indelible lead single “Dirt Diamond” frames a vulnerable admission or how the taut rhythm section of “Hard Times for Heatherhead” buoys a smitten plea, but this record at large feels like Joyner and Widmer digging deeper into the juxtapositions that have long made Generationals so compelling—distinct but familiar, wry but warm, soft but pointed. Heatherhead is the record Joyner and Widmer have been pursuing from the start.

The pair worked with multi-instrumentalist, producer, and pal Nick Krill (The War on Drugs, Clap Your Hands Say Yeah, Spinto Band), creating a cross-country file-sharing triangle.

Check out “Dirt Diamond” below, followed by the album’s tracklist and artwork.

Heatherhead Tracklist:

  1. Waking Moment
  2. Dirt Diamond
  3. Strangers
  4. Death Chasm
  5. Eutropius (Give Me Lies)
  6. Radar Man
  7. Elena (feat. Sarah Jaffe)
  8. Faster Than a Fever
  9. Hard Times for Heatherhead
  10. Dizzyland