House of Harm Reveal New Single/Video “Two Kinds”

House of Harm Reveal New Single/Video "Two Kinds"

Boston, MA post punk/new wave/synth pop band House Of Harm have revealed their new single “Two Kinds” alongside a video.

The track is the second taste of their sophomore album ‘Playground‘, due out on December 1st via AVANT! Records. Pre-order your copy here.

UPDATE 11/13/2023: “Two Kinds” is our new Single of the Week!

Speaking about it, lead singer Michael Rocheford says: “The lyrics are written from a place of reflection and weakness. It’s a desperate call for things to return to the way they were, imperfections and all.”

Sonically, with stripped down acoustic guitar and soaring synths, “Two Kinds” recalls the softer spoken alt-pop ballads of that era as well. Reminiscent of introspective singles like Smashing Pumpkins’ “Disarm” or The Cure’s “A Letter To Elise” that would counterbalance the onslaught of grunge inspired rock permeating the radio airwaves at the time.

The clip is full of candid moments from the band’s recent tour dates and everyday life, and was filmed on Hi8 cassette, giving the video a fuzzy 90’s home movie aesthetic to match the song’s own nostalgic leanings.

Watch/listen below.

Playground builds and expands upon the three-piece’s enthralling shadow-pop sound, a mix of midnight atmospherics, 90s era jangle pop, and contagious synth drenched hooks that further elevate the transcendent vocals of lead singer Michael Rocheford. Rounded out by Cooper Leardi (guitar / synths) and Tyler Kershaw (guitar / synth), House of Harm have amassed an impressive following as something of a best kept secret among their growing fanbase, leading to sold out shows on both coasts by the power of word of mouth alone.

‘Playground’ Tracklist:
  1. Before the Line
  2. To Last
  3. Roseglass
  4. The Face of Grace
  5. Soaked in Pastel
  6. Two Kinds
  7. Endlessly
  8. Ignore the Taste
  9. Moving On
  10. Place It Back

Photo Credit: Gerson Vargas