Kosmetika Announce New LP ‘Luxury’, Share “Pictures Are Gone”

Kosmetika Announce New LP 'Luxury', Share "Pictures Are Gone"

Melbourne post punk/new wave/art pop band Kosmetika have announced the release of their third studio album ‘Luxury‘.

The announcement comes with the release of lead single “Pictures Are Gone” and its accompanying video. The 10-track record will be out on July 12 via Spoilsport Records. Pre-save your copy here.

Following their impressive DIY home-recorded effort in their sophomore album ‘Illustration’, Kosmetika turn to a more studio focused record featuring engineering from Erik Scerba. They also depart from the more duo focused sounds, to a band heavy approach featuring all five members inputing vocals, song ideas and creating a diverse and detailed 10 tracks channeling a combination of their two previous releases.

The new single is a first taste of a more collaborative endeavour from Kosmetika, sitting somewhere between the 80’s melancholic new-wave of the last record and some of the faster paced pop songs yet to come on ‘Luxury’. The track settles into a psych-tinged shoegaze slow burner, featuring Eno-like melodic bass lines and washed out distorted guitars. It features Veeka Nazarova, the sole vocalist of ‘Illustration’, and maintains her usual new-wave tinged pop, also found in album hits ‘Automobile’ and ‘Halp’.

Check out the video for the song below, followed by the album’s artwork and tracklist.

Kosmetika “Luxury” Tracklist:

  1. Kosmetika Strikes Back
  2. Reward Risk
  3. Fish
  4. Halp
  5. Silver Streak
  6. Pictures Are Gone
  7. Make It Good
  8. Automobile
  9. Mirror