MGMT Announce New LP ‘Loss of Life’, Share “Mother Nature”

MGMT Announce New LP 'Loss of Life', Share "Mother Nature"

American alternative/indie duo MGMT, made up of Andrew VanWyngarden and Ben Goldwasser, have announced the release of their fifth studio album ‘Loss of Life‘, and have shared its first single “Mother Nature” via a music video.

Due to be released on 23rd February via Mom + Pop, the follow-up to 2018’s Little Dark Age was co-produced by MGMT, Patrick Wimberly (Beyoncé, Lil Yachty) and longtime collaborator Dave Fridmann (The Flaming Lips, Spoon). Pre-order it here.

Speaking about it, MGMT say:

All joking aside (never!), we are very proud of this album and the fact that it was a relatively painless birth after a lengthy gestation period, and are happy to be releasing this baby into the world with Mom+Pop. Musically speaking, we are running at around 20% adult contemporary and no more than this, please.”

We are over the moon about this collection of songs and feel very happy to unleash it onto the world. It is an album that brandishes the power of love in the face of inevitable human death and decay, and hopes to encourage collective comfort in remembering the universe’s inextinguishable yet often brutal desire to find balance and harmony.”

Check out “Mother Nature” below, followed by the album’s artwork and tracklist.

MGMT ‘Loss of Life’ Tracklisting:
  1. Loss Of Life (part 2)
  2. Mother Nature
  3. Dancing In Babylon (featuring Christine and the Queens)
  4. People In The Streets
  5. Bubblegum Dog
  6. Nothing To Declare
  7. Nothing Changes
  8. Phradie’s Song
  9. I Wish I Was Joking
  10. Loss Of Life

Formed in 2002, MGMT released their era-defining debut album Oracular Spectacular in 2007, one of the most influential albums of the ’00’s. Always taking an unexpected creative turn at every new record, but always maintaining their cultural and commercial relevance over the subsequent 15 years, MGMT later released three further studio albums: Congratulations (2010), MGMT (2013) and Little Dark Age (2018).

Photo credit: Jonah Freeman