MGMT Share New Single/Video “Bubblegum Dog”

MGMT Share New Single/Video "Bubblegum Dog"

American alternative/indie duo MGMT, made up of Andrew VanWyngarden and Ben Goldwasser, have shared a ’90s themed video for their new single “Bubblegum Dog“.

The track is the second taste of their upcoming album ‘Loss of Life‘, due to be released on 23rd February via Mom + Pop. Pre-order it here.

Commenting on the video, directors Tom Scharpling and Julia Vickerman share:

We all saw the video for ‘Bubblegum Dog’ as an opportunity to combine the charming, DIY, surreal, cardboard craft aesthetic of shows like Yo Gabba Gabba and The Mighty Boosh with these ultra-serious grunge videos we grew up watching on MTV – all that heavy, brooding angst smashed up against absurd childlike fun.”

Ben and Andrew are legitimately funny guys, so we were excited they got to really go for it with their acting, paying homage to the eternally moody mid-90s rock stars they looked up to when they were kids. They were completely game for everything, playing around with different wigs/costumes/personas/facial hair and continually chiming in with new ideas along the way. That was a wonderful feeling, because it let us know they were having a good time. For the climax of the video, they let us shoot gallons of pink slime at their faces, which we appreciated. Ben got quite a bit in his mouth, which was unintentional … but he thought it was funny, so then we were allowed to think it was funny.

Watch the clip below.

MGMT “Bubblegum Dog”
‘Loss of Life’ Tracklisting:
  1. Loss Of Life (part 2)
  2. Mother Nature
  3. Dancing In Babylon (featuring Christine and the Queens)
  4. People In The Streets
  5. Bubblegum Dog
  6. Nothing To Declare
  7. Nothing Changes
  8. Phradie’s Song
  9. I Wish I Was Joking
  10. Loss Of Life

Photo credit: Jonah Freeman