Object of Affection Announce Debut LP ‘Field of Appearances’, Air “Half Life”

Object of Affection Announce Debut LP, Stream "Half Life"

Los Angeles-based band Object of Affection, featuring members of Fury, Death Bells, and Lock, have announced the release of their debut full-length album ‘Field of Appearances‘.

Set to be released on March 3 via Profound Lore, the record “touches upon on themes of the passage of time and the aching effects of hopelessness”. Pre-order your copy here.

Meticulously crafted with Grammy-nominated producer Alex Newport and emerging engineer Phillip Odom, “Field of Appearances” is an exceedingly memorable, precisely cohesive, and importantly, a refreshing addition to the alternative music landscape.

With the inclusion of drum machines, synthesizers, acoustic guitars, and auxiliary percussion, “Field of Appearances” highlights the band’s sophisticated evolution and experimentation from previous single “Through and Through” and their self-titled tape. The result: ten songs exploding in character, contrast, and excitement. Exploring themes of reflection, insufficiency, and Déjà vu as well as additional contributions from Bre Morell (Temple of Angels, Crushed) and Brittney Beppu, each track on Field of Appearances simultaneously plays a role in making it a more significant sum than its parts while also standing out individually.

OBJECT OF AFFECTION taps into the primitivism of said members’ other projects while elevating their capacity for atmosphere and melody. Hints of gloomy post-punk, forlorn new wave, and down-and-out Regan-era alternative rock reverberate in their sound, not as pastiche but in sonic kinship to the austerity and fatalism embedded in the previous generation’s desperate and dejected anthems.

Check out below the album’s artwork/tracklist and watch the video for their new single “Half Life”, below.

Field Of Appearances Tracklist:

1. Half Life
2. Run Back
3. Time
4. Laying Claim
5. Buried
6. Someone
7. Is This Fate
8. Con-Man
9. Empty Eyes
10. Why Now