OMD Announce New LP ‘Bauhaus Staircase’, Stream Title Track

OMD Announce New LP 'Bauhaus Staircase', Stream Title Track

UK synthpop band OMD (Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark) have announced the release of their 14th studio album ‘Bauhaus Staircase‘.

The 12-track record will be out October 27 via White Noise. Pre-order your copy here.

Predominantly written, recorded, and mixed by both McCluskey & Paul Humphreys, Bauhaus Staircase’s other main external influence was David Watts, mainly known as a rock producer who helmed Sheffield band The Reytons’ recent No 1 album and mixed two tracks on the new OMD record.

The band have also shared the album’s lead single and title track. Singer Andy McCluskey says:

“I am a huge lover of visual arts, especially mid 20th century movements. I reference them often in my titles and lyrics. The song ‘Bauhaus Staircase’ is a metaphor for strength and artist passion in the face of criticism and adversity. The title is derived from an Oskar Schlemmer painting. He taught at Bauhaus, and created the amazing futuristic costumes for The Triadic Ballet (referenced in the song).”

“When times are hard there is a tendency for Governments to look at cutting funding for creativity, just at the moment when the arts are most needed to nourish our souls. Thus, it seems appropriate that the song and its eponymous album were created during Covid Lockdown. Sonically, the track attacks you instantly with rasping analogue synths, soaring electronic melodies, and pounding 808 drums. And the energy just keeps ramping up for four minutes.” He added.

Check out the album’s title track below, followed by the tracklist and cover art.

OMD ‘Bauhaus Staircase’ Tracklist:

  1. Bauhaus Staircase
  2. Anthropocene
  3. Look At You Now
  4. G.E.M.
  5. Where We Started
  6. Veruschka
  7. Slow Train
  8. Don’t Go
  9. Kleptocracy
  10. Aphrodite’s Favorite Child
  11. Evolution of Species
  12. Healing

Photo credit: Ed Miles