Orbital, David Holmes & DJ Helen Feat Mike Garry “Tonight In Belfast”

Orbital, David Holmes & DJ Helen Feat Mike Garry "Tonight In Belfast"

UK seminal electronic duo Orbital have dropped the video for “Tonight In Belfast,” a new version of their classic 1991 track, ‘Belfast’.

The reimagined single is based upon Belfast producer David Holmes’ remix, released as part of their 2022 album ’30 Something’. Now mixed by DJ Helen, the new version incorporates spoken vocals by Manchester-based street poet, Mike Garry, who brings a heartfelt human connection to the uplifting ambience, resulting in a passionate rhythm of thoughts and emotions.

Speaking about the collaboration, Mike Garry says:

“I met DJ Helen in 2019 in my capacity as an educationalist. She told me she thought my poem ‘Tonight’ would sit beautifully over Orbital’s ‘Belfast’. I wasn’t familiar with the track, so she played it to me and I did the poem silently in my head, and she was right – it sat really well.”

“But then I discovered the David Holmes’ remix and I thought it worked even better. Helen went to work: mixing, chopping, slicing and splicing magic wands with highly sophisticated ears. The result was ‘Tonight in Belfast’.”

DJ Helen continues: “The tune goes on such a journey which complements the emotion and story in ‘Tonight’ perfectly. I’m honoured to have connected with such established artists.”

Orbital are in agreement: “Like all good collaborations of this nature this one changes the whole landscape and creates so much more than the sum of its parts.”

David Holmes adds: “It was a beautiful surprise to hear the dulcet tones of Mike Garry waxing lyrical over my remix of Belfast. Pure Joy.”

Watch/listen below.

Orbital “Tonight In Belfast”
Reissue of the classic debut album

Originally released on September 30, 1991, Orbital’s eponymous debut album became known as “The Green Album” to distinguish it from their second album (known as “The Brown Album”). The Green Album includes the seminal ‘Belfast’ and a live version of ‘Chime’, the landmark dance track that launched their career in 1990. Pre-order ‘The Green Album’ (Reissued & Expanded) here.

Orbital UK + Ireland Tour Dates

24 Exeter, The Great Hall
25 Southampton, O2 Southampton Guildhall
26 Birmingham, O2 Institute Birmingham
27 London, Troxy
28 Nottingham, Rock City

2 Bristol, Bristol Beacon
3 Glasgow, The Barrowland Ballroom
4 Manchester, O2 Victoria Warehouse
5 Dublin, Vicar Street