Peel Announce Debut LP ‘Acid Star’, Share New Single “Y2J”

Peel Announce Debut LP 'Acid Star', Share New Single "Y2J"

Los Angeles indie/electronic/alt duo Peel have announced the release of their debut full-length album ‘Acid Star‘.

Along with the album announcement, the duo have premiered two new songs: “Y2J” and “Acid Star“.

When Sean Cimino and Isom Innis (from Foster the People) were getting ready to work on what would become Acid Star, they started by tapping into the music that they liked as kids.

In some sense, the relationship the duo had with late-’90s mainstream hits was the purest connection to music imaginable, so they decided to recreate some of the rhythms and textures of a few of those songs from memory, and then let the jams lead their way to new ideas.

Generally, Peel songs begin with Cimino on guitar and Innis on drums, but from there it’s anyone’s guess how the music will come together. “We’ll kind of have this foundation of a groove,” explains Innis, “and then we play musical chairs to build up an idea from there.”

“Truly, you hear every bit of Isom and then you hear every bit of me,” Cimino says. “Each of our personalities are shown.”

The results are an album that swirls dance-music paint onto a rock canvas. Inspired in part by genre-bending Creation Records bands like Primal Scream and Madchester groups like Happy Mondays, Acid Star gives a modern spin on a classic formula. The opener, “Y2J,” was one of the results of that childhood-song experiment, and is, appropriately enough, named in reference to Y2K, but slightly askew—one letter off, as it were.

Watch/listen below.

The 10-track record will be out on March 29 via Innovative Leisure. Pre-order your copy here.

Peel Acid Star Tracklisting:
  1. Y2J
  2. Climax
  3. Manic World
  4. In The Sedentary
  5. OMG
  6. Acid Star
  7. Pavement
  8. Cycle
  9. Mall Goth
  10. The Cloak