Promiseland Announces Debut LP ‘Sad but Happy’, Shares “Bad Days”

Promiseland Announces Debut LP 'Sad but Happy', Shares "Bad Days"

Australian-born, NYC-based musician Johann Rashid aka Promiseland has announced the release of his highly-anticipated debut album ‘Sad but Happy‘ and has shared the record’s lead single “Bad Days“.

The 9-track record will be out on October 20 via Julian Casablancas label Cult Records. Pre-order your copy here.

The accompanying Pietro Copps-directed video for Bad Days“, draws inspiration from Promiseland’s heroic and literal upside-down performances across New York City with a nod to The Specials’ 1981 “Ghost Town” music video. It follows the multifaceted artist as he roams through the streets of Los Angeles, searching night and day for a solace he’s yet to find.

Check out “Bad Days” below, followed by the album’s tracklist.

Promiseland ‘Sad but Happy’ Tracklist:
  1. Personal Reflektor
  2. Take Down the House
  3. Eternal Return of the Same
  4. 3d Flower Ft. Julian Casablancas
  5. My Shadow
  6. Bad Days
  7. Liquid Language
  8. Consultation
  9. Sustainable, Health

Rashid is a multidisciplinary artist who works in the forms of music, performance art, and video. Johann Rashid is also a key collaborator of the project Mazmorra Brillante alongside actress Daniella Valdez.

In 2014 Johann Rashid arrived in New York City and found the direction to bring to life the unrealized project of Promiseland. He quickly became infamous for his live shows — he mirrored his gristling urgent music with a wildly dynamic performance that more often than not resulted in broken ribs, bloody gashes, or jalapeno-infused tequila in his eyes. 

His music, a fiery collision of punk vocals, propelling beats, poetic chants and ritualistic lyrics quickly gained him a rabid fan base which came to include Julian Casablancas, who signed him to his label, Cult Records, and dubbed him “The Future Prince of Anarchy.” Promiseland’s 2017 single, the menacing “Take Down the House” is aptly featured in Grand Theft Auto V.

Photo courtesy of Cult Records