RIDE Announce New LP ‘Interplay’, Share “Peace Sign”

RIDE Announce New LP 'Interplay', Share "Peace Sign"

British shoegaze pioneers RIDE have announced the release of their seventh studio album ‘Interplay’, and have shared the record’s lead single “Peace Sign“.

The 12-track record, inspired by Tears for Fears, Talk Talk, and early U2, was produced by the band and Richie Kennedy, and will be out on March 29th via Witchita Recordings/PIAS. Pre-order your copy here.

Everything feels like it has been leading to Interplay. It’s the sound of the group connecting all the dots, taking the frenzied guitar attacks, hypnotic grooves and dreamy melodic hooks of their early work and setting it to a more expansive sonic template, one that takes in synth flourishes, psychedelic folk, electronic beats and noir-pop soundscapes.

Interplay is a rich listen that flows from start to finish, at times urgent and formidable, at others wistful and melancholic. It’s the sound of a great British band hitting a second peak. It’s a record about perseverance, about sticking together, about finding a way forward. Nine years after coming back together, Ride keep rewriting their story.

Commenting on the album, singer Andy Bell said in a statement:

“This album has taken a long time to make, and has seen the band go through a lot of ups and downs; maybe the most of any Ride album. But it has seen us come through the process as a band in a good place, feeling able to shake off the past, and ready to celebrate the combined musical talents that brought us together in the first place.”

Check out “Peace Sign” below, followed by the album’s tracklist and artwork.

RIDE ‘Interplay’ Tracklist:
  1. Peace Sign
  2. Last Frontier
  3. Light in a Quiet Room
  4. Monaco
  5. I Came to See the Wreck
  6. Stay Free
  7. Last Night I Went Somewhere to Dream
  8. Sunrise Chaser
  9. Midnight Rider
  10. Portland Rocks
  11. Essaouira
  12. Yesterday is Just a Song