RVG Unleash New Single/Video “Nothing Really Changes”

RVG Unleash New Single/Video "Nothing Really Changes"

Aussie indie rock/alternative band RVG have unleashed their new single “Nothing Really Changes” and its accompanying music video.

The song features on their just announced third studio album ‘Brain Worms‘, set to arrive on June 2. Pre-order your copy here.

The album is named Brain Worms for the hyper-recognisable experience of, each day, baring witness to a world of private obsessions being aired out in the infinite. This is the most confident RVG have felt. They’ve moved past their influences, pushed themselves, and tried new things. And they have made a record they can, by all accounts, call their best.

“Nothing Really Changes” is a keys-heavy new-wave track that “started off as a songwriting experiment to write something catchy with an obnoxious riff, a cross between Divinyls and ‘Smoke on the Water,’” Vager says. “It’s a song about missing someone but protecting yourself from being hurt.”

Off the video, director Hayden Somerville says: “The words and music painted this haunted manor world in my head,” says Somerville. “A lifeless body represents a past relationship so nicely, while also acting as a fantastic listener for Romy. I think it’s all very therapeutic.” Vager adds, “This new record has been about taking risks so I really put myself outside of my comfort zone to make it work. I’m really proud of what we’ve made, the video compliments the melodrama and playfulness of the track perfectly.”

Watch/listen below.

RVG “Nothing Really Changes”

Brain Worms Tracklist:

  1. Common Ground
  2. Midnight Sun
  3. It’s Not Easy
  4. Tambourine
  5. Brain Worms
  6. You’re The Reason
  7. Squid
  8. Giant Snake
  9. Nothing Really Changes
  10. Tropic of Cancer

Photo by Izzie Austin