Screensaver Announce New Album ‘Decent Shapes’, Air “The Guilt”

Screensaver Announce New Album 'Decent Shapes', Air "The Guilt"

Aussie post punk/synth wave band screensaver have announced the release of their sophomore album ‘Decent Shapes‘ and have aired the record’s lead single “The Guilt“.

The follow-up to 2021’s debut Expressions of Interest, recorded and mixed by Julian Cue, will be out on October 20th via Upset The Rhythm Records. Pre-order your copy here.

According to the press release, ‘Decent Shapes’ is loaded with bubbling tension, a low grade but growing fever, a rising rage. The frustration is so tangible you can taste it. Detachment and dissociation become survivalist coping mechanisms.

Thematically, the record finds them exploring existence on an ever-growing trash heap where we’re desperate for the new, the nice and the shiny. A world where materialism reigns supreme and corporate niceties litter the public dialogue but behind closed doors the sentiment is warlike, total domination is the only answer to the bottom line. All of which is underpinned by the band’s sonic sense of urgency and a commitment to creating a sound that taps into the mood and spirit of post-punk whilst also allowing space for new wave elements and electronic experiments to shine through.

Check out the album’s artwork and tracklist as well as the video for their new single “The Guilt“, below.

screensaver ‘Decent Shapes’ Tracklisting:

  1. Red Lines
  2. The Guilt
  3. Party Interest
  4. Future Trash
  5. Drainer
  6. Severance Pay
  7. Direct Debit
  8. Cancellation Notice
  9. No Vacation
  10. Signals

screensaver formed in 2016 as a trans-Pacific project between Krystal Maynard (Bad Vision/ex Polo) and Christopher Stephenson (Spray Paint/Exek).