Shame Announce New LP ‘Food for Worms’, Stream “Fingers of Steel”

Shame Announce New LP 'Food for Worms', Stream "Fingers of Steel"

South London post punk/indie rock band Shame have announced the release of their third studio album ‘Food for Worms‘.  

The follow-up to last year’s album Drunk Tank Pink, was produced by Flood (Nick Cave, U2, PJ Harvey, Foals) and will be out on February 24th via Dead Oceans. Pre-order your copy here.

Shame frontman Charlie Steen describes the record as “the Lamborghini of shame records”. For the first time, the band are not delving inwards, but seeking to capture the world around them. “I don’t think you can be in your own head forever,” says Steen. A conversation after one of their gigs with a friend prompted a stray thought that he held onto: “It’s weird, isn’t it? Popular music is always about love, heartbreak, or yourself. There isn’t much about your mates.”

In many ways, the album is an ode to friendship, and a documentation of the dynamic that only five people who have grown up together – and grown so close, against all odds – can share.

Food for Worms also marks a sonic departure from anything they’ve done before. Shame have abandoned their post-punk beginnings for far more eclectic influences, drawing from the tense atmospherics of Merchandise, the sharp yet uncomplicated lyrical observations of Lou Reed and the more melodic works of 90s German band, Blumfeld.

Lead single and album opener “Fingers of Steel” is out now alongside a music video.

Steen said in a press release about the new video, “Self-obsession, social media flagellation and death can all be seen in this Oscar-nominated performance. No one’s ever done a video like this before and when you watch it, you’ll see why. Think Casablanca, but in color, and better.”

Check out the album’s tracklist and watch the video for “Fingers of Steel” below.

Food for Worms Tracklisting

Food for Worms Tracklisting:

  1. Fingers Of Steel
  2. Six-Pack
  3. Yankees
  4. Alibis
  5. Adderall
  6. Orchid
  7. The Fall Of Paul
  8. Burning By Design
  9. Different Person
  10. All The People