Sleaford Mods Announce New LP ‘UK GRIM’, Stream Title Track

Sleaford Mods Announce New LP 'UK GRIM', Stream Title Track

Nottingham post punk/alt duo Sleaford Mods (aka Jason Williamson and Andrew Fearn) have announced the release of their seventh studio album ‘UK GRIM‘.

The follow-up to 2021’s Spare Ribs, will be out on March 10 via Rough Trade. Pre-order your copy here.

Begun in the lockdowns of 2021, UK Grim finds the group at their most immaculately enraged, disquieting and ferociously poetic. It is, like all their records, a diagnosing of the sicknesses of society, a panacea, and a psychological blot test where the listener finds themselves revealed.

Throughout their music the duo’s poetic protest and electronic resistance has seen them consistency chart and call out their times with an eloquence and attitude that has made them one of the most urgent and unique voices in modern music.

Continuing this sonic vocation on their new album, Jason Williamson and Andrew Fearn’s creative evolution now finds them capturing the atmosphere of their era too. Though no strangers to the dancefloor, the minimal yet immersive beats and grooves of UK GRIM’s tracks – which include collaborations with Dry Cleaning’s Florence Shaw and Jane’s Addiction’s Perry Farrell and Dave Navarro among them – add a new, physical dimension to Sleaford Mod’s sound that makes their words more vital than ever. Music for body AND mind.

Speaking on the album, Williamson goes on to state:

The album was written during the non-event which was COVID and I’ve just got increasingly angrier with myself and everyone else. The energy of it is a lot more aggressive.

We knew the album was really good, but at six albums in you don’t expect that kind of reception. Will this one hit the zeitgeist again? I don’t think so; it’s just us doing our thing on our own again. It hasn’t been carried by anything apart from perhaps the ultra-demise of any kind of reason in government politics. Perhaps in that sense, ‘UK Grim’ might strike a chord with people at their wit’s end, with people having to suffer these fucking idiots.

Check out the video for lead single and title track below.

UK GRIM Tracklisting:

  1. UK GRIM
  2. D.I.Why
  3. Force 10 From Navarone
  4. Tilldipper
  5. On The Ground
  6. Rightwing Beast
  7. Smash Each Other Up
  8. Don
  9. So Trendy
  10. I Claudius
  11. Pit2Pit
  12. Apart From You
  13. Tory Kong
  14. Rhythms Of Class