SPECTRES Announce New LP ‘Presence’, Air “The Old Regime”

SPECTRES Announce New LP 'Presence', Share "The Old Regime"

Vancouver, BC post punk/cold wave/goth band SPECTRES have announced the release of their new studio album ‘Presence‘.

The follow-up to 2021’s album Hindsight, will be out on March 15 via Artoffact Records. Pre-order your copy here.

Charming and dreamy, Presence ebbs and flows with thundering drums, vocals blended in with the other instruments with elegant texture and contrast, and ethereally layered bass and six string guitars. Along with the album announcement, the group premiered the lead single “The Old Regime“.

Sonically leaning into the band’s pop and shoegaze influences, the song has clear post punk and rock undertones and is sure to get the band’s longstanding fanbase itching to find out what it has in store for them.

Check out “The Old Regime” below, followed by the album’s artwork and tracklist.

SPECTRES ‘Presence’ Tracklist:
  1. Presence
  2. The Old Regime
  3. AM Gold
  4. Justice and the Cross
  5. Real World
  6. Waiting
  7. Dominion
  8. One Day
  9. Chain Reaction
  10. Falling Down
  11. Start Again

Made up of Zachary Batalden, Mitchell Allen, Jason Toppings, Gordon Adam Mitchell, and Brian Gustavson, the post punk band have been on the forefront of the genre resurgence since 2005 and are commonly cited as kicking off the renewed interest in this sound.

Emerging from the DIY Punk underground, Spectres vocalist/founder Brian Gustavson wanted to blend the grassroots and independent ethic of anarcho-punk with the anomie and cold, modulated sounds of 1980’s Post Punk and death rock.

Though the band’s output has matured with time to embrace a wider range of new-wave and shoegaze influences their ethos remains rooted in anarcho punk. One of the band’s core strengths is its sonic aesthetic, which ranges from brooding and confrontational dark punk to ethereal pop influenced dance anthems.

Photo credit: @franklyshot