SPECTRES Share New Single “AM Gold”

SPECTRES Share New Single "AM Gold"

Vancouver, BC post punk/cold wave/goth band SPECTRES have shared their new single “AM Gold“.

The track is taken from their forthcoming album ‘Presence‘, due to be released on March 15 via Artoffact Records. Pre-order your copy here.

Spectres have been on the forefront of the post punk genre resurgence since 2005 and are commonly cited as kicking off the renewed interest in this sound. Emerging from the DIY Punk underground, Spectres vocalist and founder Brian Gustavson wanted to blend the grassroots and independent ethic of anarcho-punk with the anomie and cold, modulated sounds of 1980’s Post Punk and death rock. Though the band’s output has matured with time to embrace a wider range of new-wave and shoegaze influences their ethos remains rooted in anarcho punk. The blending of these influences allows for the curious juxtaposition of 80’s influenced pop sensibilities with lyrics that explore the alienation and cynicism of modern life and the search for hope in an increasingly terrifying world. 

According to the press release, Presence ebbs and flows with thundering drums, vocals blended in with the other instruments with elegant texture and contrast, and ethereally layered bass and six string guitars.

Take a listen to “AM Gold” below.


SPECTRES ‘Presence’ Tracklist:

  1. Presence
  2. The Old Regime
  3. AM Gold
  4. Justice and the Cross
  5. Real World
  6. Waiting
  7. Dominion
  8. One Day
  9. Chain Reaction
  10. Falling Down
  11. Start Again

Speactres are: Brian Gustavson – Vocals, Zach Batalden – Guitar, Mitch Allen – Drums, Adam Mitchell – Guitar and Jason Renix – Bass

Photo credit: @franklyshot