Spunsugar Announce New LP ‘A Hole Forever’, Air “It Never Gave Me Anything”

Spunsugar Announce New LP 'A Hole Forever', Air "It Never Gave Me Anything"

Swedish shoegaze/alt band Spunsugar have announced the release of their second studio album ‘A Hole Forever‘.

The follow-up to their critically acclaimed debut album ‘Drive-Through Chapel’ (2020), will arrive on 17th November via Adrian Recordings featuring their new single “It Never Gave Me Anything“.

According to the press, ‘A Hole Forever’ discusses dense topics and exposes the realities of coming to terms with internal shame, it also tackles themes about getting older and confessing dark secrets with the mindset that life is a slow death.

The inclusion of classic shoegaze elements, such as raucous glide guitar, grimy bass, and pounding drum beats, nostalgically transport the listener back to the 90s. However, Spunsugar provides a modern touch to the genre with their unique fusion of electronic, post-punk, and pop components.

Commenting on the new single the band said: 

“It Never Gave Me Anything” describes a relationship between a person and an unwanted side of themselves. This side is so unlike how they want to be that they treat them as a separate entity, maybe even a person. It has always been there, ruining moments, talking to them and making sure that they never forget that it is present. A seemingly never ending list of things this ‘it’ is responsible for is recited over a pulsating beat and bass riff that is both ominous and groovy at the same time. This paired with a wall of distorted guitars that show up in the bridges and choruses, creates a song that makes you question what mood the song leaves you with. As is typical of the band, the song plays with what emotion, as well as which genre, it evokes.”

Get the track here and watch a lyric video below.

Growing up farmer offsprings, bible belt kids of fundamentalists and trailer trash in small towns of Sweden, Spunsugar consist of Cordelia Moreau, Elin Ramstedt and Felix Sjöström. Each member carries a separate musical background, leading to a melting pot of their distinct influences. Some of the group’s most cherished artists are Cocteau Twins, Red House Painters, Hole, Electric Youth, Ramones, and Misfits.

A Hole Forever Tracklist:

  1. Metals
  2. San Jose
  3. Zeppo
  4. White Sneakers
  5. It Never Gave Me Anything
  6. A Flicker In My Lights
  7. Skin Unwell
  8. Flaws (feat. Andreas Mattsson)
  9. Words For Others
  10. Taxidermy

Photo credit:  David Möller