Suburban Spell Reveals “Natural Science” Music Video

Suburban Spell Reveal “Natural Science” Music Video
Photo by Kristen Solury

Melbourne-based synthwave/darkpop artist Suburban Spell (aka Peter Endall) has revealed the video for his latest single “Natural Science“.

The track came out last month and features on his upcoming EP ‘Falling Down’, named in reference to the long-term outcomes of bad choices and giving into guilty pleasures, set to arrive on June 23. Pre-order it here.

‘Natural Science’ is a statement on the weight of scientific evidence and the powerful push by doubters to challenge such knowledge based on baseless contradictory viewpoints.

Speaking about it, Peter said:

The concept behind ‘Natural Science’ was written about the baffling science deniers who gained a lot of momentum during the Covid 19 pandemic. How documented facts from the world’s leading institutions were flatly rejected, based on a belief system that didn’t align with a particular view point, coupled with selective research to echo whatever that belief system was.

When that mind-set becomes a natural way of thinking, it’s very difficult to offer an alternative view point, and Natural Science appears to be denied. I don’t want to sound all knowing and it’s good to challenge the accepted science, however I believe there are immutable laws of science that are irrefutable), what I call Natural Science.

The video was created by Dingo Cross Films in Melbourne, and produced/directed by Paul Puccio and Cassie Dart.

Watch it below.

Suburban Spell “Natural Science”

Suburban Spell music combines the austere beauty of Kraftwerk, 80’s melodic sensibilities, driving rhythms and also some noisy grind thrown in for good measure. Influenced by the heyday of new wave and 70’s-80’s electronica, his music carries the beautiful imprints of artists such as Ultravox, OMD, Visage, Jean-Michel Jarre, The Cars, Gary Numan and New Order. Having re-emerged on the music scene as Suburban Spell, Endall has found his niche, especially in modern Australian electronica.  

Falling Down EP Tracklist:
  1. Falling Down
  2. Salvation Army
  3. Bright Gold Cross
  4. 12 Causes of Pain
  5. Natural Science
  6. Side Car