Temples Announce New LP ‘Exotico’, Stream “Gamma Rays”

Temples Announce New LP 'Exotico', Stream "Gamma Rays"

London’s neo-psych band Temples have unveiled announced the release of their fourth studio album ‘Exotico‘.

The follow-up to 2019 album Hot Motion, was produced by Sean Ono Lennon and mixed by Dave Fridmann (Beach House, Spoon, The Flaming Lips), it will be out on 14 April via ATO Records. Pre-order your copy here.

Temples and Sean Lennon first crossed paths during southern California’s Desert Daze festival in 2019. The subsequent album collaboration taught the band to “be less concerned about what genre something might sit in, or even stop worrying about genre altogether. The genre should always just be Temples,” Bagshaw recalled.

Of lead single “Gamma Rays“, frontman James Bagshaw says:

“In the verse lyrics, we’re talking about the grandness of nature, and then the chorus flips that on its head, it sounds like a rejoiceful summer tune about soaking up the rays, but the truth is that soaking up gamma rays will kill you. So it’s about that juxtaposition of beauty and danger that we often find in nature.”

The accompanying music video was shot on-location in the Brit-swamped coastal resort of Benidorm and was directed by Molly Daniels, who said: “Filming in Benidorm was inspiring. It’s a very surreal and futuristic space – like Margate meets Vegas meets the end of the world!, I wanted a video that felt fast-paced and took you on a journey through some great locations.

With its resplendent collage of psychedelia, krautrock and time-bending dream-pop, Exotico brings that world to life in crystalline detail, all while exploring an entire spectrum of existential themes: impermanence, mortality, our connection with nature and the wild immensity of the mind.

Check out the clip for “Gamma Rays” below.

Exotico Tracklist:

  1. Liquid Air
  2. Gamma Rays
  3. Exotico
  4. Sultry Air
  5. Cicada
  6. Oval Stones
  7. Slow Days
  8. Crystal Hall
  9. Head In The Clouds
  10. Giallo
  11. Inner Space
  12. Meet You Maker
  13. Time Is A Light
  14. Fading Actor
  15. Afterlife
  16. Movements Of Time
Exotico Tracklist: