Temples Release New Single “Cicada”

Temples Release New Single "Cicada"

London’s neo-psych band Temples have released their new single “Cicada“, off their forthcoming fourth studio album ‘Exotico‘.

UPDATE 20/03/2023: “Cicada” is our new Single of the Week!

One of the album’s most explosive tracks, “Cicada” serves as a frenetic meditation on rebirth and renewal, fueled by furious drumming, dizzying strings, and the distinctive sound of a Marvin – a copper percussion instrument Temples lead singer/guitarist James Bagshaw describes as “something out of a steampunk museum.” 

Temples’ Thomas Walmsley expalins:

“‘Cicada’ came from being inspired by the sound of cicadas,” says , “and the idea of emerging from the underground after a long time of being suppressed. We were attempting to turn that sound into a sort of dance rhythm, and once we started working with Sean we really built up the production by digging into his cupboard of keyboards and synths.”

“You never really see cicadas, but you can imagine them having a frantic life, and to me that song feels like a huge army of them whipped into a frenzy.” Bagshaw added.

Stream it below.

Exotico which will be out on 14 April via ATO Records. Pre-order your copy here.


  1. Liquid Air
  2. Gamma Rays
  3. Exotico
  4. Sultry Air
  5. Cicada
  6. Oval Stones
  7. Slow Days
  8. Crystal Hall
  9. Head In The Clouds
  10. Giallo
  11. Inner Space
  12. Meet You Maker
  13. Time Is A Light
  14. Fading Actor
  15. Afterlife
  16. Movements Of Time