The Drums Unveil New Single “The Impossible”

The Drums Unveil New Single "The Impossible"

New York-based indie pop /alt band The Drums (led by Jonny Pierce) have unveiled their new single “The Impossible“.

The song is taken from the deluxe edition of last year’s album ‘Jonny‘, featuring five additional tracks, out on April 5 via Anti Records. Pre-order your copy here.

Speaking about it, Jonny Pierce shared: “I wrote ‘The Impossible’ very quickly, over the course of a few hours, music and all; it wanted to be here with me. It’s a curious time for me to write a song about emotional devastation and unfulfilled promises, as I am currently reveling in a romance that feels fulfilling and meaningful and full of integrity. It is as if the more peaceful and nested I am, the more worried that part of me becomes. I can only assume that the survivors-brain I forged in childhood wrote this song with me. It seems to be working overtime trying to protect me from emotional shipwreck in the future. Wouldn’t it be lovely just to enjoy love while it’s here!?

The 16-track album beautifully chronicles Pierce’s journey confronting the deep-rooted childhood trauma he experienced growing up in a cult-like religious community in upstate New York, and ultimately coming through the other side to a place of newfound self-understanding and self-love.

Watch a lyric video below.

The Drums “The Impossible”

Jonny (Deluxe) Tracklist:

  1. I Want It All
  2. Isolette
  3. I’m Still Scared
  4. Better
  5. Harms
  6. Little Jonny
  7. Plastic Envelope
  8. Protect Him Always
  9. Be Gentle
  10. Dying (feat. Rico Nasty)
  11. Green Grass
  12. Obvious
  13. The Flowers
  14. Teach My Body
  15. Pool God
  16. I Used to Want To Die
  17. (I Still) Don’t Know How To Feel Love
  18. The Impossible
  19. When Every Cell is Sad
  20. Noah
  21. Maybe I Was Wrong