The Haunted Youth Announce Debut LP ‘Dawn Of The Freak’

Belgian dream pop/indie rock band The Haunted Youth (led by Joachim Liebens) have announced the release of their highly-anticipated debut full length album ‘Dawn Of The Freak‘.

The 10-track record was composed/written/produced by Joachim Liebens and will be out on November 4th. Pre-order your copy here.

The international release of the album is preceded by the single ‘Teen Rebel’, a dream pop anthem you think you’ve known all your life and that will stay with you all your life. The previous singles also return on ‘Dawn Of The Freak’, like close friends that wrap their arms around you, raising the glass to celebrate life with all its highs and lows. Because for all the highs The Haunted Youth have experienced so far, Liebens has had his share of lows in life. For him making music is a way of facing the demons of his past and writing them out of his system. “It’s therapy, a way of dealing with my existence”, Liebens says. “And I hope this album will be universal and accessible enough for others to enjoy it in the same way.” As dark as the lyrics often are, as a whole and musically the album exudes salvation and connection, implying that it’s okay to feel like shit sometimes. And “it’ll all be over someday soon, I promise you”, Liebens leaves a glimmer of hope in closing song ‘Fist In My Pocket’.

Liebens put his heart and soul in ‘Dawn Of The Freak’, writing all the songs and producing the album. The music of The Haunted Youth echoes the shoegaze and dream pop of musical heroes like Slowdive, The Cure, My Bloody Valentine and DIIV. But the band also has a very characteristic and instantly recognizable sound with that typical dreamy guitar, melancholic synths and Liebens’ velvety voice. A sound both the seasoned indie connoisseur and the average festival goer love, judging by the live sensation The Haunted Youth have become in no time, and the rapturous reception at festivals like Rock Werchter, Best Kept Secret, Pukkelpop, Tomavistas, ESNS and Reeperbahn (including a nomination for the prestigious Anchor Awards!).

Check out the album’s tracklist and watch the video for “Teen Rebel“, below.

Dawn Of The Freak Tracklist:

  1. Dawn Of The Freak
  2. Teen Rebel
  3. Stranger
  4. Gone
  5. Shadows
  6. Broken
  7. I Feel Like Shit And I Wanna Die
  8. House Arrest
  9. Coming Home
  10. Fist In My Pocket