The Remainder Drop New Single “Evensong”

The Remainder Drop New Single "Evensong"

UK electronic outfit The Remainder, comprise of Blancmange’s Neil Arthur (vocals, guitar and synthesisers), solo artist/producer Finlay Shakespeare (synthesisers and vocals) and Liam Hutton (drums, guitar and synthesisers), have dropped their brand new single “Evensong“.

Hutton, best known for his work with Boxed In, Neneh Cherry and more recently and Young Fathers, initiated the writing process back in 2015. ‘There was never a clear brief or definition of the project that we were working towards collectively’, he explains. ‘It was always a completely open statement.’

The trio’s crisp, glacial rhythms, cascading synths, shadowy psychedelia, absurd humour and lyrical x-rays of everyday life all feature strongly on their forward-looking debut album. Each song is also linked by interludes created by Liam’s mother Jo Hutton, a recording engineer and composer/sound designer of experimental music and sound art.

The track serves as the title track of their upcoming debut album, due out July 15. Pre-order it here.

Take a listen below.

The Remainder “Evensong”

Eversong Tracklist:

  1. Broken Manhole Cover
  2. Interlude 1
  3. Hoarfrost
  4. Interlude 2
  5. Evensong
  6. Interlude 3
  7. The Remainder
  8. Interlude 4
  9. Awake
  10. Interlude 5
  11. Dead Farmer’s Field
  12. Interlude 6
  13. Lift Music
  14. Interlude 7
  15. Forgotten
  16. Interlude 8
  17. What Do You Want To Want