Whispering Sons Unveil New Single/Video “Walking, Flying”

Whispering Sons Unveil New Single/Video "Walking, Flying"

Belgian post punk five-piece Whispering Sons have unveiled their new single “Walking, Flying” via a music video.

announced the release of their third studio album ‘The Great Calm‘, which will be out on February 22nd via [PIAS] Recordings. Pre-order it here.

The Great Calm represents a reimagining and rethinking, though this growth has produced a series of songs that are still defiantly and uniquely true to the group. 

“I think the most important thing about us is that we met as a group of friends and started the band,” notes vocalist and lyricist Fenne Kuppens, “this is something that came out of a love for music and an eagerness to play together. And now we’re 10 years further. Not that much has really changed. The dynamics are always the same. We’re very close to each other, we’re very good friends, so to switch things around was easy.” 

Undoubtedly the band’s most uplifting song to date, “Walking, Flying” shows a more hopeful and optimistic side of the band. Both musically and lyrically, the track lingers on one idea. A solid and steady rhythm section carries the verses, while the vocals and the rest of the instruments are carefully spun around it, interacting with each other and propelling the song into an elevating chorus.

“‘Walking, Flying’ was the first song we tried out live while still in the process of writing the album”, Kuppes explains, “as a result, it not only became a band’s favorite to perform, but also served as a reference point for the rest of the record.” 

Watch the Heleen Declercq-directed video below.

Whispering Sons “Walking Flying”
The Great Calm Tracklist:
  1. Standstill
  2. Walking, Flying
  3. Cold City
  4. Dragging
  5. Something Good
  6. Still, Disappearing
  7. The Talker
  8. Balm (After Violence)
  9. Poor Girl
  10. Loose Ends
  11. Oceanic
  12. Try Me Again

Photo Credit: Lucinde Wahlen