Wolf Parade’s Dan Boeckner Announces Debut LP, Shares “Lose”

Wolf Parade's Dan Boeckner Announces Debut LP, Shares "Lose"

Canadian singer-songwriter and producer Daniel Boeckner (of Wolf Parade, Operators, Divine Fits, Handsome Furs), has announced his debut solo album ‘Boeckner!‘, which will be available worldwide March 15th via Sub Pop.

Throughout his work with Wolf Parade, Handsome Furs, Divine Fits, Operators, Atlas Strategic, and more, the iconic Canadian indie rocker recognizes that few feelings are more gratifying—more memorable, more generative, more abundant—than hope. But it takes getting the hell out of your own way. A culmination of that deep library of musical reference, Boeckner is set to release his first album under his own name: Boeckner!

Produced, engineered, and mixed by Randall Dunn at Circular Ruin in NYC and mastered by Heba Kadry in Brooklyn, Boeckner! is an eight-song, thirty-two-minute collection that includes the highlights “Euphoria,” “Dead Tourists,” and its first offering, the hopeful synth rocker “Lose”. Pre-order it here.

The record also features Matt Chamberlain on drums, Medicine’s Brad Laner, who assisted with vocal arrangements and added guitar flourishes throughout the record, and Jeremy Gaudet of labelmates Kiwi Jr., who co-wrote the song “Dead Tourists.”

Composed of a collection of intimately familiar elements, Boeckner! elicits the same thrill of young passion and discovery. It’s a jet-powered chase through a tech-noir cityscape—fueled by a dream and that special someone in the passenger seat. Boeckner introduces this fused language immediately with the thumping opening track and lead single “Lose.” Buoyed by the scorched space-age synths developed across two records with Operators and the fist-pumping guitar push of Wolf Parade, the song charges headlong into a new world.

Check out “Lose” below, followed by the album’s tracklist and artwork.

Boeckner Tracklisting:

  1. Lose
  2. Ghost in the Mirror
  3. Wrong
  4. Don’t Worry Baby
  5. Dead Tourists
  6. Return to Life
  7. Euphoria
  8. Holy Is the Night

Photo credit: Al Green