Death and Vanilla Reveal New Single/Video “Out For Magic”

Death and Vanilla Reveal New Single/Video "Out For Magic"

Swedish dream pop/psych trio Death and Vanilla have revealed new single “Out For Magic“.

The track features on their upcoming new album ‘Flicker‘, which will be out on March 17 through Fire Records. Pre-order your copy here.

Housed in a beautifully austere post-ironic de-constructed sleeve; ‘Flicker’ is a modern reflection on these difficult times. World crises notwithstanding, they return reborn, re-arranged and revitalised after assimilating dub reggae, the motorik spirals of Can, the modal meander of Philip Glass and The Cure’s dreamier pop sounds; plus the twice removed symphonic ambience of Spiritualized and Talking Heads under heavy manners from Brian Eno.

Watch/listen below.

Forming in Malmö, Sweden, Death And Vanilla gravitated towards vintage musical equipment; from vibraphone, organ and mellotron, to tremolo guitar and Moog synthesisers. Soaking up soundtracks from the 60s and 70s, listening to library music, kosmiche, French Ye-ye pop and 60s psych, Marleen Nilsson, Anders Hansson and Magnus Bodin were fashioned by the city’s austere industrial past and flat pack present, and all in the shadow of the Orsesund Bridge that links their dreamworld to mainland Europe and a darker reality.

Flicker Tracklist:
  1. Out For Magic
  2. Baby Snakes
  3. Find Another Illusion
  4. Perpetuum Mobile
  5. Looking Glass
  6. Mercury’s Rising
  7. Fearless
  8. Transparent Things
  9. Perpetuum (reprise)