Echo Ladies Unleash New Single “Awake”

Echo Ladies Unleash New Single "Awake"

Swedish dream pop/shoegaze trio Echo Ladies have unleashed their new single “Awake“.

This is the second taste of their forthcoming second album ‘Lilies‘, due to be released on September 8th via Rama Lama Records and Gazehop Records, the follow-up to their 2018 debut ‘Pink Noise’.

According to the press release, Lilies is built on the same foundation that Echo Ladies curated during their past releases, but with a more unyielding presence. Echo Ladies have always tried to balance two emotions at the same time throughout their songs. While their past songs tried to convey the feeling of nostalgia and hope for the future, mixed with worries and anxieties about defining who you are and what you will become, this album instead tries to balance the emotions of sorrow and loneliness, with anger, frustration, and the determination to make a change for the better.

Commenting on the track they said:

“‘Awake’ is a song about the feeling of drifting apart from each other in a relationship, the feeling of being left behind and forgotten and how small of a person that makes you feel, hoping it’s all a bad dream and wishing to wake up again.”

Pre-oder Lilies here and take a listen to Awake below.

Echo Ladies are Matilda Botwid, Mattis Andersson and Joar Andersén, three school-friends who, after playing in various different bands, realised that they worked best together. In 2014, after looking for “a name that represented their sound”, they became Echo Ladies, partly inspired by the name of the drum machine from a shared favourite band, Echo & the Bunnymen.

Lilies Tracklist:

  1. Fabrik
  2. Selfcontrol
  3. Dirty Dancing
  4. Coming Home
  5. Lilies
  6. Getting On Me
  7. Awake
  8. Illness
  9. Strangers
  10. Funeral