Folly Group Unveil New Single/Video “Pressure Pad”

Folly Group Unveil New Single/Video "Pressure Pad"

London post punk/punk band Folly Group have unveiled their new single “Pressure Pad” alongside an accompanying video.

The song is taken from their upcoming debut album ‘Down There!‘, out this Friday, January 12 via So Young Records. Pre-order your copy here.

“Down There!” is shaped by genre-hopping: shifting playfully between post-punk, dub, trip-hop and more. The band ascribe this to their far-ranging reference points at the outset of making it. While Akinde-Hummel recalls listening to lots of drill, UK jazz and hardcore punk, Milburn had gotten heavily into 80s artists like Squeeze, The Specials and Joe Jackson.

 “Pressure Pad” sees the band combining angular guitar lines with frenetic drumming, and synths reminiscent of 8-bit video games, before the track takes one of the album’s frequent unexpected diversions: this time into a trumpet section. 

Speaking on the themes behind the track, vocalist / drummer Sean Harper, says: “Musically, Pressure Pad is a testament to how far we’ve come as collaborators. Every different kind of remote or in-the-room collaboration we’ve ever found fruitful was involved in creating this Frankenstein’s Monster of a single. Its final version arrived after months of exchanging files, ideas and needless spanners in the works. This is probably the 6th or 7th iteration of this song, and its final form was ultimately dictated by a deadline – we’d probably never have been able to call it finished otherwise. Every room in which this album was made has birthed one or more elements of Pressure Pad: Louis’s flat, Tom’s flat, our rehearsal space, the studio where we recorded the bulk of the record.”

“Lyrically, it touches on someone else being a massive part of your self, but loving it. It’s about totally going with the flow of a relationship, becoming someone you never otherwise would have been, but not over-analysing that, rather being grateful for it.”

Watch the Sunshine Laundry-directed video below.

Folly Group “Pressure Pad”
Folly Group “Down There!” Tracklisting:
  1. Big Ground
  2. I’ll Do What I Can
  3. Bright Night
  4. East Flat Crows
  5. Strange Neighbour
  6. Freeze
  7. Pressure Pad
  8. Nest
  9. New Feature
  10. Frame

Alongside the single the band have also announced a new run of US tour dates. 

Upcoming Tour Dates

6 Mar – Brighton, Patterns
7 Mar – Bedford, Esquires
8 Mar – Cardiff, Clwb Ifor Bach
9 Mar – Bristol, Strange Brew
12 Mar – Birmingham, Dead Wax
13 Mar – Liverpool, Arts Club
14 Mar – Manchester, Yes (Pink Room)
15 Mar – Leeds, Belgrave Music Hall
16 Mar – Glasgow, King Tuts
19 Mar – Newcastle, Cluny 2
20 Mar – Nottingham, Rescue Rooms
21 Mar – London, Scala
2 Apr – Lille, Aeronef Club
3 Apr – Paris, Le Pop Up Du Label
4 Apr – La Roche Sur Yon, Quai M
6 Apr – Bordeaux, Rock School Barbey*
7 Apr – Donosti, Dabadaba
8 Apr – Madrid, Maravillas
9 Apr – Barcelona, Heliogabal
11 Apr – Bologna, Locomotiv
12 Apr – Bern, Isc
13 Apr – Zurich, Bogen F
16 Apr – Schorndorf, Manufaktur
17 Apr – Prague, Cafe Lese
18 Apr – Dresden, Polimagie Festival
19 Apr – Berlin, Urban Spree
20 Apr – Osnabrück, Pop Salon
23 Apr – Cologne, Bumann & Sohn
24 Apr – Nijmegen, Merleyn
25 Apr – Amsterdam, Paradiso
26 Apr – Rotterdam, Roodkapje
28 Apr – Brussels, Botanique
8 May – Brooklyn, Union Pool
10 May – Montreal, L’Esco
11 May – Toronto, Monarch Tavern
13 May – Chicago, Hideout
15 May – Los Angeles, Gold Diggers

Phoro credit: Matt Ritson