Frankie and the Witch Fingers Announce New Album ‘Data Doom’

Frankie and the Witch Fingers Announce New Album 'Data Doom'
Photo by James Duran

Los Angeles psych-punk quartet Frankie and the Witch Fingers have announced the release of their seventh studio album ‘Data Doom‘, due to be released on September 1 via The Reverberation Appreciation Society / Greenway Records.

The band has also shared the record highlight “Mild Davis” with a mind-bending animated music video. Inspired by Miles Davis’ early-70s electric work, the track’s dizzying 7/4 meter winds through chunky riffs, commanding vocals and proggy synths before crash-landing in a minefield of angular guitar harmonies.

Over the past decade, Frankie and the Witch Fingers have operated as an outright force of nature, offering up a revelatory form of psych-rock that hits on both a primal and ecstatically mind-bending level.

In the making of Data Doom, the four-piece forged a sublimely galvanizing sound informed by their love of Afrobeat and proto-punk, a potent vessel for their frenetic meditations on technological change run rampant, encroaching fascism, and corrosive systems of power.

Animated by the explosive energy they’ve brought to the stage in sharing bills with such eclectic acts as Ty Segall and ZZ Top, as a result, is a major leap forward for one of the most adventurous and forward-thinking bands working today. Self-produced by the DIY-minded band and recorded direct to tape by Menashe, Data Doom ultimately took shape through countless sessions in their Southeast L.A. rehearsal space, with Frankie and the Witch Fingers allowing themselves unlimited time to explore their most magnificently strange impulses.

Check out the album’s tracklist and watch the video for “Mild Davis” below.

Data Doom Tracklist:

  1. Empire
  2. Burn Me Down
  3. Electricide
  4. Syster System
  5. Weird Dog
  6. Doom Boom
  7. Futurephobic
  8. Mild Davis
  9. Political Cannibalism

Data Doom‘ will be released September 1, 2023. Pre-order your copy here.