M83 Announces New LP ‘Fantasy’, Airs ‘Oceans Niagara’

M83 Announces New LP 'Fantasy', Airs 'Oceans Niagara'
Photo credit: Ella Herme

French-born, Los Angeles-based synth-rock artist M83 aka (Anthony Gonzalez) has announced the release of his ninth studio album ‘Fantasy’.

The follow-up to  2019’s DSVII will be out on March 17 via Mute and Other Suns, Anthony’s own new label. Pre-Order here

Fantasy was inspired in part by jam sessions with Anthony’s longtime collaborator Justin Meldal-Johnsen (Beck, Air, Nine Inch Nails) and M83 touring keyboardist and saxophonist Joe Berry. The expansive sound they made carries into lead single “Oceans Niagara” that comes with a music video directed by Anthony’s brother, filmmaker Yann Gonzalez who also contributed lyrics to Fantasy.

“I wanted this record to be very impactful live,” says Gonzalez. “The idea was to come back with something closer to the energy of Before The Dawn Heals Us. The combination of guitars and synths is always in my music, but it’s maybe more present on this new record than on the previous ones.” He adds, “I wanted to be more present lyrically and vocally even if that was daunting at first. I thought if I could achieve that, this album will be more personal than those that came before.”

In addition to this news, M83 has shared the sweeping, transformative first cut “Oceans Niagara”. Accompanying the track is a video directed by his long-time creative collaborator, filmmaker (Knife + HeartYou And The Night) and brother Yann Gonzalez.

Check out the album’s artwork/tracklist and watch the video for “Oceans Niagara“, below.

Fantasy Tracklisting:

  1. Water Deep
  2. Oceans Niagara
  3. Amnesia
  4. Us And The Rest
  5. Earth To Sea
  6. Radar, Far, Gone
  7. Deceiver
  8. Fantasy
  9. Laura
  10. Sunny Boy
  11. Kool Nuit
  12. Sunny Boy Part 2
  13. Dismemberment Bureau