MADMADMAD Announce New Album ‘Behavioural Sink Delirium’

MADMADMAD Announce New Album 'Behavioural Sink Delirium'

London post punk/electronic trio MADMADMAD have announced the release of their third studio album ‘Behavioural Sink Delirium‘, and have also aired the lead single “Krautjerk“.

Powered by their wild live parties and rooted in the sounds of mutant disco, post-punk and experimental electronics, the London-based trio’s new album is due out July 21 via Bad Vibrations. Pre-order your copy here.

Following 2020’s ‘More More More’, the trio’s new album was recorded and produced by Eddie Stevens (Zero7, Moloko, Róisín Murphy) in his Fulham studio. “We locked ourselves away for ten days and recorded 30 hours of music, all played live in one room, and only edited to create arrangements”, MADMADMAD recall. The result of those sessions is nine unhinged techno-dystopian freak-outs that mark the trio out as a truly singular group.

About the album’s title:

‘Behavioural Sink Delirium’ takes its name and inspiration from the 1968-70 ‘Universe 25’ experiment by American ethologist John B. Calhoun, looking at the behavioural effects of population growth in a ‘rodent utopia’. During the studies, Calhoun built a perfect space for a colony of 3,000 mice to thrive in, with constant food and water supplies, cosy apartments and no outside threats or predators. Starting with 4 females and 4 males, the population grew rapidly before capping at a number of 2,200. At this point, a living nightmare ensued, filled with antisocial and violent mice as the utopic conditions began to collapse.

The mice formed violent cliques and social hierarchies, then, cannibalism started becoming common practice and the population started plummeting to eventual extinction. Calhoun coined this tipping-point the “behavioural sink” effect, and it’s this state of societal breakdown that the trio tap into on the record.

You can easily see the link with our species in terms of overpopulation, but also with the Internet medium or ‘metaverse’ and its overproduction of data, causing tremendous societal, mental and environmental shifts. What was supposed to cater for most of our needs has also turned on us. Delirium kinda states the air of it all, and the folly of the music.” 

About the new single, MADMADMAD said:

“‘Krautjerk’ is a mutant headbanger. One that spirals into pure lyrical frenzy, spitting out words like quarters out of a one-arm bandit on pay day. This future-punk anthem is built from an irresistible bassline and a frantic beat that keep building up, pushing their way through an army of A.I. gnomes summoning the radioactive Gods.”

Check out the album’s tracklist and the video for “Krautjerk” below.

MADMADMAD Announce New Album 'Behavioural Sink Delirium'

Behavioural Sink Delirium Tracklist:

  1. A Gin, No Tonic, Mannheim
  2. Krautjerk
  3. You See, You Do It Like This
  4. Totes Amazeballs
  5. It’s A Cat
  6. Deckchairs
  7. Flute And The Hobo
  8. Baggy Bag Bottoms
  9. In The Garden of Mezcal