PAWS Announce Self-Titled Album, Stream “Disenchanted”

PAWS Announce Self-Titled Album, Stream "Disenchanted"

Glasgow indie rock/pop duo PAWS have announced their fifth self-titled album and have shared the album’s lead single “Disenchanted“.

The follow-up to their 2019’s LP Your Church On My Bonfire, will be out on October 27 via Ernest Jenning Record Co. + Wish Fulfillment Press. Pre-order your copy here.

Following the release of their forth album, PAWS – made up of Phillip Jon Taylor and Joshua Swinney, toured briefly, and as the world began to shut down, they slipped out of sight. Phillip retreated north to the Highlands, focussing on visual art and solo work, while Joshua remained in London as a chef.

Having missed playing together for too long, in October 2022 Josh travelled to Phillip’s home studio in his crofters cottage where work began on their new record.

The resulting record finds the band as grounded and assured as they ever have been. Marrying the deafening assault of youthful abandon with the whispered reasoning that comes with getting older; swaying from anger and exasperation to wide eyed optimism. PAWS is a succinct, razor wire encased documentary chronicling the pains of modern living. Delving into the dark underbelly of 90s alternative rock, painting with evocative instrumentals and reveling in celebratory indie punk, the band also embrace sordid pop and ambient electronics. And while it pays homage to where they have come from, it also signals a clean slate for the pair.

Check out the album’s tracklist and watch the Phillip Jon Taylor-directed video for “Disenchanted“, below.

PAWS Tracklisting:

  1. Helen Back
  2. Plans
  3. Uncertain
  4. One Nation Under DOG
  5. Unfiltered
  6. Sound Aye No Bother
  7. Elemental Attributes
  8. Starfu**ers
  9. S.A.H.D.
  10. Disenchanted

PAWS UK Tour Dates
August 26 – Edinburgh @ Connect Festival – Tiny Changes Stage
December 13 – London @ Sebright Arms

Photo credit: Nicky Murray