Pip Blom Announce New Album ‘Bobbie’, Stream “Is This Love?” ft. Alex Kapranos

Pip Blom Announce New Album 'Bobbie', Stream "Is This Love?" ft. Alex Kapranos

Amsterdam indie pop/indie rock band Pip Blom have announced details of their third album, Bobbie, and have shared their new single “Is This Love?”, featuring Franz Ferdinand’s Alex Kapranos.

The follow-up to 2021’s Welcome Break, will be out on October 20 via Heavenly Recordings. Pre-order your copy here.

Bobbie sees the band take a delightful left turn into thumping, carefree synth pop. Work with synthesizers and computers began from the very beginning, and Pip Blom recruited producer ​​Dave McCracken in a co-writer role to make sure the vision was fully realized.

While admitting to the cliché of a guitar-orientated band “grabbing the synths” for album three, this new direction had a real and genuine draw for Blom and foremost in her mind was cult 2010s English pop band Micachu and the Shapes.

On her previous albums, Blom wrote songs on the guitar, hoping that the studio process would then allow her to live out her pop dreams through final flourishes added during the recording process. “But we were always then running out of time,” she remembers, “and they ended up as just guitar-y albums.”  

Crafted on computers and featuring synths, the album marks a departure in sound, but as ever with Pip Blom, their knack for colorful and vivacious pop shines through across the 12 tracks.

Talking about new single “Is This Love?” and the process of collaborating with Alex, the band said:

“The nice thing about working with Alex, besides the fact that the atmosphere was really good, was that we both had quite different perspectives. Whereas I am a bit more rock by nature, Alex is a lot funkier. And that turned out to be the perfect addition for this song, both in the verses and completely in the chorus. Never before has such a funky Pip Blom song appeared, and we all absolutely love it.”

Check out the album’s tracklist and watch the video for “Is This Love?” ft Alex Kapranos, below.

Pip Blom 'Bobbie'

Pip Blom ‘Bobbie’ Tracklist:

  1. Not Tonight
  2. Tiger
  3. Red
  4. Kiss Me By Candlelight
  5. I Can Be Your Man
  6. Where’d You Get My Number
  7. Brand New Car
  8. Is This Love?
  9. Fantasies
  10. Again
  11. Get Back
  12. 7 Weeks