Sparks Announce New LP ‘The Girl Is Crying In Her Latte’

Sparks Announce New LP 'The Girl Is Crying In Her Latte'

 L.A. art-pop band Sparks have announced the release of their 26th studio album ‘The Girl Is Crying In Her Latte‘, and have shared the video for the title track starring Academy Award-winner Cate Blanchett.

Described by Ron and Russell Mael as a record that is “as bold and uncompromising as anything we did back then, or for that matter, anytime throughout our career,” the album will hit the stores on Friday, May 26 via Island Records. PRe-order your copy here.

Both characteristically timeless and unequivocally modern, The Girl Is Crying In Her Latte once again affirms that after more than a half-century making masterpieces, Sparks remain inimitable, ingenious, and as ever, utterly one of a kind. 

About the video and Cate Blanchett, they say:

“We met Cate Blanchett in Paris at the César Awards last year. Little knowing that a year later, one of the great actors of our time (and a splendid person!) would graciously consent to lending her bootie-shaking skills to the first video from our new album, ‘The Girl Is Crying In Her Latte’. Dreams really do come true. We will sleep well tonight knowing that forever we can say we co-starred in a film with Cate Blanchett!” 

Watch the clip now.

The Girl Is Crying In Her Latte Tracklist:

  1. The Girl Is Crying In Her Latte
  2. Veronica Lake
  3. Nothing Is As Good As They Say It Is
  4. Escalator
  5. The Mona Lisa’s Packing, Leaving Late Tonight
  6. You Were Meant For Me
  7. Not That Well-Defined
    8.We Go Dancing
  8. When You Leave
  9. Take Me For A Ride
  10. It’s Sunny Today
  11. A Love Story
  12. It Doesn’t Have To Be That Way
  13. Gee, That Was Fun