Surf Friends Announce New LP ‘Sonic Waves’, Stream “Something Real”

Surf Friends Announce New LP 'Sonic Waves', Stream "Something Real"

Auckland jangle pop/surf rock duo Surf Friends (made up of Brad Coley and Peter Westmoreland) have announced the release of their new studio album ‘Sonic Waves‘.

The follow-up to 2019’s Doing Your Thing, was mostly written and recorded between 2019-2021 and will be out on March 17 via Flying Nun Records. Pre-order your copy here.

The duo worked with long-time producer Mark Howden, to take on new musical directions, whilst retaining their dreamy psych-surf energy that put them on the musical map all the way back in 2009, when they debuted their self-titled EP. 

They band say:

“The focus of the record was to keep it raw and more distorted than previous releases. Most of the tracks’ guitars had separate channels recorded via a Peavey Rage 108 distortion amp – as a side note, Jeremy Toy (She’s So Rad, Leonard Charles, Sommerset) put this together like 25 years ago for Brad when he was his guitar teacher! Mark Howden also pushed us a bit in production, which was cool.”

The duo have also shared the album’s first sun-drenched single, ‘Something Real’. From the sound of the song’s first strums, the dynamic duo take their listeners on a visceral sonic ride that embodies the weightless, euphoric feeling of hot summer days.

Off the track, theyr say:

“Something Real’ is essentially a realisation we had about doing “something real”. What we mean is that instead of falling into the traps of TV, social media, phone addiction etc, you should do “something real” with intent – like playing guitar, spending time with kids and listening to music – always keeping your inner kid alive.”

The song is accompanied by a self-directed music video which perfectly captures the organic, carefree sentiment that the song emits, featuring Brad’s camping adventures with his kids and a few other bits of surfing footage.

Watch/listen below.

Sonic Waves Tracklist:

  1. Whirling Hiss
  2. Dreaming
  3. Good Thing
  4. Signal On
  5. Something Real
  6. Woohoo
  7. Times What We Want
  8. Play Your Show
  9. For Today
  10. Sonic