The Bright Light Social Hour Unveil New Single/Video “Not New”

The Bright Light Social Hour Unveil New Single/Video "Not New"

Austin, TX mood punk/psych rock/cosmic band The Bright Light Social Hour have unveiled their new single “Not New“, alongside an accompanying music video.

The song is taken from their highly-anticipated new album ‘Emergency Leisure‘, which will hit the stores on August 2 via Escondido Sound. Pre-order your copy here.

Founded by Jackie O’Brien (bass/vocals) and Curtis Roush (guitar/vocals) – and newly joined by Mia Carruthers (keys/vocals), Zac Catanzaro (drums) and Juan Alfredo Ríos (percussion) – the band’s latest single showcases the sound of the forthcoming project, melding Texas trippiness with irresistible disco-punk groove.

Band member Jackie O’Brien, says:

“In 2019 we did a tour we didn’t realize would be our last. At least for TBLSH as we knew it. Emergency Leisure is a fictional autobiography from this period, centered on a seminal, hedonistic night at Bar L’Escogriffe in Montreal – our own Tropic of Cancer of sorts. “Not New” kicks off the odyssey, a new beginning in our Fool’s Journey. ”

Watch the Jackie O’Brien-directed video below.

The Bright Light Social Hour “Not New”

The Bright Light Social Hour ‘Emergency Leisure’ Tracklist:

  1. Not New
  2. Most High
  3. Amsalak
  4. Small Celebrations
  5. Prefecture
  6. Eating Out My Mind
  7. Lifers Only
  8. Death of a Lifer
  9. Swollen
  10. Call My Name
  11. Empty Fields