The Howlers Announce Debut LP ‘What You’ve Got To Lose To Win It All’, Share “Lady Luck”

The Howlers Announce Debut LP 'What You've Got To Lose To Win It All', Share "Lady Luck"

London-based indie rock/alt/psych trio The Howlers have announced their highly-anticipated debut album ‘What You’ve Got To Lose To Win It All‘.

The album’s announcement comes with the release of new single “Lady Luck” and its accompanying video.

Produced by Black Honey, the 15 track collection is defined by resilience, friendship and unconditional love through unimaginable pain. It will be out on May 17, pre-order your copy here.

Taking their lead from an eclectic range of influences, from the film scores of Ennio Morricone and John Willams, to desert blues pioneers Tinariwen, Kurt Vile, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club and Father John Misty, The Howlers are far from your conventional British guitar band.

The album promises glorious, expansive songs that conjure up cinematic landscapes a long, long way from London’s East End. Escapism, perhaps, but entirely understandable and justified given what frontman Adam has experienced over the last two years. Two life threatening illnesses in the course of two months, the loss of four family members and two close friends and the following immeasurable grief have all played a huge part in the creation of the album, the devoted bond between bandmates and the unique connection between the band and their fanbase.

Of the new single, they said:

‘Lady Luck’ is one of those tracks that never really quite had a place, Adam had the main riff for years often playing it during soundcheck or rehearsals but it never had a song round it, multiple attempts to write a song around it always came out missing the mark by miles and for a long time it was this problem child, Guus would often say ‘Just leave it now’ but Adam knew there was something in it, he just couldn’t see it yet.

Eventually the song as it is today came into being by chopping up multiple other songs in similar states of limbo for verses and a chorus and smashing them together, sort of like a frankenstein’s monster of a track made up of all the best bits of other songs, and now it’s one of our favourite songs to play live…

Check out “Lady Luck” below. followed by the album’s artwork and tracklist.

What You’ve Got to Lose to Win It All’ Tracklist:

  1. Intro
  2. How Long
  3. I Need Your Love
  4. To Make A King
  5. El Dorado
  6. Further Down The Line
  7. Cowboy’s Don’t Cry
  8. Wanting, Waiting, Wishing
  9. Lady Luck
  10. On The Run (Over You)
  11. Once Again
  12. Matador (Interlude)
  13. Nothing To Lose
  14. When The Flowers Bloom Again
  15. Take It Easy