The Thing Release New Single/Video “Midnight”

The Thing Release New Single/Video "Midnight"

New York psych-garage four-piece The Thing have released their new single “Midnight” and its accompanying video.

The track features on their sophomore album ‘The Thing Is‘, due to be released on February 2. Pre-order it here.

Three minutes of perfectly calibrated overdrive, “Midnight” sees the band punching the time clock for impending doom.

Built up by Zane Acord, Jack Bradley, Michael Carter and Lucas Ebeling, The band formed in 2022. They jump started their success once they fell in love with being on the road and fans started experiencing their live shows. Committed to doing everything they can in-house, the band records at their East Williamsburg studio Onion Records, creates their own visuals, and has crafted a visual identity that marries the grit of the 90s with the effortless temptation of the 70s.

On the inception of “Midnight” The Thing shared:

“The initial idea came from a drunken stupor years ago when we were jamming in our living room. We spent close to an hour just on the one riff. We’ve been enjoying writing this way, entering a trance and trying to find a song amidst a cacophony. Eventually, we revisited this voice memo during our recording session for this album.

We whittled it down and settled on a form but had not found the lyrics. So, on the tail end of our most recent tour, we spent a few nights in an Airbnb in the Appalachians. The lyrics were inspired from conversions about nuclear weapons and how our time on earth is measured by a doomsday clock countdown. We were asking existential questions and affirming our belief in a creative life. We felt the spy-like essence to the instrumental fitted that lyrical theme nicely.”

Filmed in black and white, the music video is a jewelry heist that feels vintage yet modern at the same time. The band shared, “We filmed the ‘Midnight’ video at Horseman Antiques, a famous antique store in Brooklyn where Michael used to work. It’s a place where we all spent time doing odd jobs delivering various pieces of furniture. The idea is that we are burglars robbing the store in search of a coveted item.”

Watch/listen below.

Upcoming Tour Dates

2 – New York, NY – TV EYE
8 – Philadelphia, PA – Johnny Brenda’s
9 – Richmond, VA – The Camel
10 – Charleston, SC – Charleston Pour House
14 – Atlanta, GA – The Earl
15 – Auburn, AL – 1716
16 – Birmingham, AL – Saturn
17 – New Orleans, LA – Santos
22 – Austin, TX – Mohawk
24 – Oklahoma City, OK – Resonant Head
28 – Phoenix, AZ – Valley Bar
29 – San Diego, CA – WINSTONS

Photo credit: Nicole Miller