The Veldt Drop Music Video For “Shallow by Shallow”

The Veldt Drop Music Video For "Shallow by Shallow"

Raleigh, North Carolina pioneering shoegazers The Veldt have dropped the video for their latest single Shallow by Shallow“.

The track features on their album ‘Illuminated 1989‘, included in our Best Albums of 2023 list, out now via Little Cloud Records / 5BC Records. Buy it here if you haven’t already.

Speaking about it Danny Chavis says:

Shallow by Shallow is one of the first songs that we recorded at Cocteau Twins’ studio ‘September Sound’ in Twickenham. It was also the opening song on our first Cocteau Twins opening slot in 1989, which was filmed live in NYC at the RITZ by Simon Raymonde of Cocteau Twins. Lincon Fong, who would go on to record our ‘ Marigolds’ album in 1993, also joined us there on stage for the closing song ‘Get Up’. We would inevitably go on to play and record with Robin Guthrie throughout the years, including for the album that is now titled ‘Illuminated 1989’, which we are finally able to release.”

This is a stream of consciousness… It’s the search for the soul and the energy of the earth, out-of-body experiences, and explores how to communicate with the universe… This song also ask the universal question what is hamburger but chopped steak“.

Watch the clip below.

The Veldt “Shallow by Shallow”

Illuminated 1989 Tracklist:

  1. Aurora Borealis
  2. C.C.C.P
  3. It’s Over
  4. Shallow By Shallow
  5. Pleasure Toy
  6. Angel Heart
  7. Willow Tree
  8. Git Up
  9. Heather
  10. Daisy Chain
  11. The Everlasting Gobstopper

Photo Credit: Danny Chavis