YOCTO Release New Single/Video “Orbital Alcatraz”

YOCTO Release New Single/Video "Orbital Alcatraz"

Montreal art rock/post punk quintet YOCTO have released their new single “Orbital Alcatraz” alongside an accompanying video.

The track features on their upcoming debut album, set to arrive on August 25 through via Canadian label Duprince and French label Requiem pour un Twister. Pre-order it here.

Zepta Supernova explores themes of fatal obsession, pernicious pride, chained moon and doomsday. Within the narrative of theses science-fiction tales, Yocto taunts her megalomaniac arch-nemesis. This flawed character has a tendency to indulge in his own perversions. Yocto knows this and will use it to her advantage by ingeniously disarming her rival and transforming his lucky star into a blazing supernova.

Embodying the fractional essence of this micro unit of measurement, YOCTO’s music draws its DNA from the underground rock giants of the mid-70s (Television/Talking Heads/Devo) and from the mystical soundtracks of sci-fi soap operas from that era. 

Watch/listen below.

YOCTO “Orbital Alcatraz”

Leading this mighty quintet, Yuki Berthiaume-Tremblay (JesuslesfillesIDALG) sings hymns of rebellion alongside Jean-Michel Coutu (IDALG) on guitar, Emmanuel Éthier (Chocolat) on bass, Félix-Antoine Coutu on drums and Carl Matthieu Neher on the v-organ.

Zepta Supernova Tracklist:

  1. Volteface
  2. Dactylo
  3. Orbital Alcatraz
  4. Entre les mors
  5. L’Étau de Zálmoxis
  6. Hagio Agio
  7. Lance-Flamme Lance-Glace
  8. Procession, Rituel
  9. Procession, Révolution
  10. Station 01011