A Beacon School Unveils New Edit of “Jon”

A Beacon School Unveils New Edit of "Jon"

New York-based songwriter and multi-instrumentalist Patrick J. Smith dream pop/electronic project A Beacon School has unveiled a new edit of the electronic dance track “Jon“.

The track features on his much anticipated first full-length in five years, yoyo, set to arrive on October 13th via Grind Select. Pre-order your copy here.

Here’s what Patrick Smith said of the new edit of “Jon”:

“I’ve always loved listening to, and creating, electronic music, but I wasn’t sure if it would make sense alongside my guitar songs. When “It’s Late” was so well-received on the last record, it gave me the confidence to pursue this direction further, and make something that paid homage to my favorite dance music.”

And here’s the video for the original song

The follow-up to his beloved debut Cola, Smith takes his sound even further with 10 tracks that are an untainted exploration of the unconscious artistic self and the oscillation of time.

Smith began making music as A Beacon School in 2009. A home-recorded demo single was released in 2011, and a self-titled EP by a full-band lineup appeared near the end of 2012. Smith notably played with bands such as Modern Rivals and Bluffing, and currently works with Parquet Courts’ Max Savage as part of Maxband.

yoyo Tracklist:

  1. Middle of Winter
  2. Potion
  3. KITM
  4. Jon
  5. Adore
  6. Alone
  7. Honeyed (Stay Forever)
  8. Dot
  9. Down the Pyramid
  10. Mantra

Photo credit: Matthew Marino