Blue Ocean Reveal New Single/Video “Ode”

Blue Ocean Reveal New Single/Video "Ode"

Oakland, CA shoegaze/lo-fi band Blue Ocean have revealed their new single “Ode“, alongside an accompanying video.

The track is the second taste of their forthcoming album ‘Fertile State‘, due to be released on October 13 through Slumberland Records. Pre-order your copy here.

Blue Ocean blend elements of shoegaze, sunshine prism-pop, noise rock and electronics into a dense, sometimes disorienting soundworld that embodies a spectral mystery recalling forebears like Disco Inferno, Bark Psychosis and Flying Saucer Attack. Fertile State shows the band at their noisy best. Reverberating guitars swirl around what is at it’s heart a lovely pop song, erupting into peels of feedback a la early Jesus & Mary Chain.

Songs like “Ode,” “Fertile State” and “Syncnine” show how much Blue Ocean has grown in the last few years. They’ve easily shrugged off many of the markers of their punk/indie roots, allowing their experimental urges free rein and and the noise to find it’s own level. It’s a bracing, invigorating album that truly rewards deep listening and points the way forward to an intriguing future.

Watch the Rick Altieri-directed video below.

Fertile State Tracklist:

  1. Ode
  2. Elated Prose
  3. Neutron Mob
  4. Fertile State
  5. Ion Drift
  6. Take A Care
  7. The Radiant Edge
  8. Present
  9. Sulfur Jacket
  10. Syncnine
  11. Deorbit
  12. Elude