Courteeners Announce New LP ‘Pink Cactus Café’, Air “Solitude Of The Night Bus”

Courteeners Announce New Album 'Pink Catcus Café'

Manchester indie-rockers Courteeners have announced the release of their long-awaited seventh studio album ‘Pink Cactus Café‘.

The first single/video, “Solitude Of The Night Bus“, has been released alongside the announcement. The follow-up to their 2020’s More. Again. Forever., will be out on October 25th via Ignition Records. Pre-order your copy here.

Since releasing their debut album St. Jude in 2008, Courteeners have become one of the most loved bands in Britain, building a huge community around their sold out shows that has seen them consistently play to packed houses and fields nationwide.

Frontman Liam Fray has co-produced all tracks and the album features contributions from friends of the band such as DMA’S, Brooke Combe, James and Ian Skelly (The Coral), Pixey, Charlie Salt (Blossoms), Ola Modupe-Ojo (Bipolar Sunshine) and Theo Hutchcraft (Hurts) amongst many more.

Speaking about the new song, Fray shared: “This came at a time of real questioning. Things weren’t going particularly well. No confidence. No direction. I think that’s why – whisper it – it’s on the fun side. This is the new us. I’d previously worked with Ola [Modupe-Ojo] on ‘Hanging Off Your Cloud’ and, like then, there was just a magic in the room that was irresistible. It’s a summer breeze. But it’s a winter’s night. Either way, sometimes you have to block out the noise. My late Uncle Pat loved a whistle so it’s a bit of a homage to him. Get on the bus; headphones in; go your own way. It’s the feel good, imposter syndrome hit of the summer.”

Check out “Solitude Of The Night Bus” below, followed by the album’s tracklist and artwork.

Courteeners “Pink Cactus Café” Tracklist:
  1. Sweet Surrender feat. Brooke Combe
  2. Weekend Shy Of A Feeling
  3. Pink Cactus Café
  4. Where Are We Now?
  5. The Beginning Of The End feat. DMA’S
  6. Solitude Of The Night Bus
  7. First Name Terms feat. Pixey
  8. Lu Lu
  9. Love You Any Less
  10. Bitten By Unseen Teeth

Photo Credit: Michael Clement